Second Chemo Treatment

Kesey had acupuncture Monday…all went well.  Tuesday morning, we dropped him off at Dr. Sporer’s office for chemo with the internist.  We really like this doctor and he seems to be very caring.  Kesey came home with those same nausea meds that we are required to wear gloves when administering.  That still really freaks me out.  But Kesey is doing really well…amazingly well.  We’re four days out from chemo and he honestly doesn’t seem to have been affected much by it.  He’s eaten well the entire time and has been happy.  It’s a huge relief.  He continues to take all of his holistic meds, and I have to think those might have really helped.

Our internist says he plans to get in touch with Dr. Sivula at Dancing Paws…he seems genuinely interested in holistic treatment and that makes us very happy.

Kesey has been falling more than I would like recently.  His front leg just kind of falls out from under him sometimes, and then I see his face hit the ground.  It’s very, very hard to see, and makes me sad.  That said, we continue moving forward and we’ve been taking more and more walks.  The other day I had G in the stroller, and Kesey on leash and we were walking up the street, when I noticed that a random, unknown Lab mix was following us.  It seriously freaked me out, b/c Kesey is rather defenseless and I had both him and G and myself to keep safe.  I was probably overreacting when I called L to come and pick us up, but I didn’t want to take any chances.  Plus I’ve seen that look Kesey gets when he feels at all threatened…I guess “defeated” is a good way to describe it.  I guess that’s to be expected, but it’s hard to see our very courageous and strong pup feeling sad.

2 Responses to “Second Chemo Treatment”

  1. Mary Ashman Says:

    I just wanted to let you know that you and Kesey are in my thoughts and prayers. I lost my 13 1/2 year old to cancer Feb 1, 2009 but I also feel Dr.Sivula was a Godsend and prolonged his life for a good year. He had a fibrous sarcoma that was deeply attached to his rib cage and would have required extensive reconstruction surgery. I didn’t feel it was fair to put him through something like that so we continued with holistic therapy with Sivula. He lived much longer than what the oncologist projected and had a nice quality of life. I am thankful for them and you couldn’t be in any better hands. The tumor never got any bigger on the rib cage but it metasticized to the stomach area. He came in when God was callling him and he and Stephanie were there for us. They are amazing! Kesey had more options and I am so glad he is doing well. I know how much we love our babies. I miss mine so much. Give Kesey a kiss and white light healing for me.

    • Mary-Thanks so much for your comment and kind words. I’m so sorry that you’ve been down this same road. And I’m so sorry that you lost your friend.

Leave a Reply

